Goodbye DMVSavvy, Hello DMVunplugged!

Posted: February 25, 2011 by Arteest in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Not too long after my Beat Clash experience, I was back at UMD and looking for an internship. While searching through the new list of jobs and internships that were posted for English Majors, I came across an internship with a website called DMVSavvy.com.

It was August of 2009 and it was an up-and-coming music and entertainment website focused on shedding light on all things DMV related. There was a place for fashion, cinema, art, sports, pop-culture, and my area of expertise, music. Once I discovered this new opportunity I spoke with the intern coordinator for my school, submitted a piece of writing to the intern coordinator of the site and it was solidified. I was now a writer for DMVSavvy.com. I was so excited to actually write for a website. My internship was going to present mixtape review opportunities, mixtape release party attendances, and interviews of local hip-hop artists and singers, or so I thought. It all seemed too good to be true and I didn’t know just how right I would be. Due to the creators’ differing opinions about the direction of the site, it was disbanded and all its content was removed. After about a month and a half of being active, DMVSavvy.com was now dead. And I had only written one review for the site within that time frame. This of course, while lowering my morale and leaving me questioning the status of my internship, made me become a more diligent writer when it came to my academic career.

I was now without an internship and for the next few days, I was in limbo. I had no idea of the fate of my internship or the site. Then, out of the blue one day, I get a call about another possible opportunity. Sheriff Taiwo, a co-creator and web designer of DMVSavvy contacted me and informed me of a new site he was working on. He said he’d seen my stuff on savvy and wanted to know if I was interested in writing for the new site. I, without hesitation accepted his offer and within a week or so DMVUnplugged.com was born.

It was a thing of beauty. The new site had new features and an even better format. I knew we had something special. My internship was then transferred to the new site and ties with Savvy had pretty much been severed. This for me wasn’t that big of a deal as I hadn’t been at savvy long enough to accrue any obligations to it. Plus, my relationship with the Unplugged staff was growing daily. Sheriff and his partner Ralph Bell pretty much gave me total creative control over what I wrote about, with the exception of a few write-ups that they requested specifically. But, I felt I finally had a permanent home for my writing; a place where I could finally have it seen on a larger scale and gain some exposure for myself, the site and up-and-coming DMV music artists. So it was officially goodbye DMVSavvy, hello DMVUnplugged!

What Do You Think?

