Osama Bin Laden

I don’t often voice my opinion on political/government issues, but an event with such a magnitude as the assassination of Osama Bin Laden is a conversation I feel I am obligated to have with you. But I am not going to talk to you about the assassination specifically. Because I am not here to voice my opinion on whether Osama is actually dead or not. I will not say whether I think that his, what some consider ‘alleged’ death is a good or a bad thing for the American people or even on a larger scale, the world. I am simply here to discuss the antics that ensued immediately after the announcement of his death.

After I discovered that Osama Bin Laden had been killed, I immediately turned the Channel 9 news on and watched as the female reporter interviewed the public live from the street in front of The White House. To my surprise, there were hundreds if not thousands of people gathering to ‘celebrate’ the death of America’s number one enemy, Osama Bin Laden. As an American, I know I probably should have felt relieved and as ‘jubilant’ as all of those citizens who were partying and throwing around beach balls and dressing like American flags. But for some reason that scene of pandemonium in my eyes appeared to be more of a juvenile spectacle. Rather than people paying their respects to the deceased who lost their lives on 9-11-2001, people were drunk in the streets acting like fools. There was no candle light vigil, there was no moment of silence, and many were acting blind to the fact that this does not mean the end of terrorism as we know it. The scene outside of The White House looked more like a college frat party than a crowd of people paying their respects to the hundreds of people who are no longer here.

Students celebrating outside of White House

And as much as I’d like to be un-emotional to the many types of ignorance and “bafoonery” I witnessed on my television screen late last night, I can’t. One guy even said, “this is like the return of Jesus Christ.” If that isn’t ignorant, I don’t know what is. I watched as the reporter asked countless college students, long term D.C. natives and tourists their feelings about what happened and what Osama’s death meant to them and many people couldn’t even give  intelligent responses. It seemed to me that most were outside of The White House because it was something to do on a boring Sunday night and because everyone else was doing it they were going to do it as well. For a country who often criticizes 3rd world countries for publicly celebrating the deaths of people, we sure didn’t differentiate ourselves from them last night. I thought we were supposed to be a country who sets examples for the world. I thought we were supposed to have values and morals and sense.

Man who called himself "Captain America"

As I watched the people waiving signs that read, “Obama beat Osama” and “Ding Dong Bin Laden Is Dead” I couldn’t help but think we have reverted back to our primal “hunt or be hunted” state. Within those minutes of watching the circus that took place last night, I witnessed American citizens transgress back to a Neanderthal state. Pitchforks and torches might have been more fitting than the beach balls and as of less than 12 hours ago T-Shirts that read, “Obama Got Osama.” <<(Capitalism is truly flourishing in D.C.) When we celebrate death, we become like the terrorists we so highly despise. So rather than partying in the street and tweeting, “Who’s going to have the Bin Laden is Dead party this week?” (Yes that was a real tweet that I saw last night on Twitter) We should focus on the real issue: What happens next? Does this mean we are going to pull our troops out of Afghanistan?  Does this mean we are going to reduce the “non-sensical” amount of spending on our military to help battle the deficit? What does this mean for Obama’s re-election for a second term? These are the questions that intrigue me. These are the things that ran through my mind as I watched the antics of the devolved mindless barbarians I saw last night.

"America Fuck Yeah"

As I think about our future while replaying images of the results of what’s been quoted as the end of the biggest game of Hide-n-Seek, I remind myself that the “War On Terror” still continues the day after OBL’s (Osama Bin Laden) death. And that this high-energy producing moment for some, will be very short-lived. I now ponder the possible detrimental effects of the assassination. Not just taking into consideration OBL’s comrades, but also the American government and military. What types of restrictions or limitations may be further imposed on the American people as a result of trying to maintain our safety? What types of backlash may occur as a result of our in-your-face “Deathebration.” I think you too should be considering these questions if you haven’t already and I hope this is a most sobering moment for any of you out there drinking the Kool-Aid with the rest of the folks.

I’d like to leave you with this: To all those who celebrated OBL’s death, let’s rather celebrate the lives of the hundreds of people we lost.  Let’s be the better people, hold our heads high and be thankful that in the last ten years we haven’t had another attack. Let’s appreciate each beautiful day that we have been given and celebrate each peaceful day we hope to have in the future. P.S.: I am in no way, shape, or form in opposition of Osama being killed, I am simply in opposition of the antics that occurred after his death was announced. If you would like to have your opinion heard on the situation, don’t hesitate to reply to this post. Let’s converse and get our opinions out. But, I will delete any comments that I find to be inappropriate or a personal attack on me.

For more opinions on the “Deathebration” checkout: The Atlantic, DailyCaller.com, and Dailymail.co.uk.

Comments
  1. Karen Cameron says:

    This is a very mature and balanced piece regarding this topic. Here it is to me in a nutshell: if you are exuberant over the death of someone, death may mistake your exuberance and visit your house next. Osama Bin Laden is surely a war criminal, and needed and deserved to be brought to justice. But was this justice? I don’t know. Regardless of what this man did he had a family that loved him. Was is our right to take his body and dump it somewhere and not give his family the right to bury him the way they wanted? I don’t know. All I know is that its disturbing to me to see people joyously celebrating death. It just doesnt sit with me.

    Like

  2. pportugal says:

    There were some truly ignorant sh*t being said.. but looking back at it, if I were there, I feel like there would be no words to explain the moment. I imagine the reason for such a physical response like this is exactly because there is not much to give the occasion justice in clear, articulate ways. Now people can do so, and we’re seeing a ton of posts everywhere about it. I’m loving every moment of it. Honestly, I’m behind the idea of not being a jackass, and I’m with you there.

    But I will remember this: for every person whooping and hollering, there is someone alone, crying out of happiness. (Well, realistically, not 1-for-1. You know what’s up.)

    Like

  3. joeymowa says:

    I completely understand your opinion. I just feel like this is the first thing America has had to celebrate since maybe the Obama election, and before that God knows what. The beauty of this country is that we can do things our own way, whether it be get drunk and sing patriotic songs while waving America flags, or sitting at home watching the news and thinking that everyone out on the streets is classless and wrong.

    Personally, I come from NY and knew a ton of people who died in the attacks and went to plenty of funerals afterwards that forever ingrained in me the hate I had for Osama bin Laden. It may not be right, it may seem brutal, but when I found out he died, it felt like 10 years of pent up aggression suddenly shot out and needed to be let loose. Maybe flooding Route 1 like a lunatic wasn’t the most publicly acceptable way to do this, but it just felt right at the time.

    Like

    • k80b3th says:

      Joey – I can understand your need for such a release, and it goes the same for many people who were directly effected. But all of the people I knew survived the attack on the pentagon. I didn’t know anyone in New York. I can appreciate the difference in reactions, and the difference between people being able to step back and look at it objectively… I’m just surprised at how the majority reacted because for a lot of people it was a really sad and unforgettable day, but they didn’t lose a family member or a friend. I don’t know. It’s a really hard subject.

      Like

    • Arteest says:

      I understand given your circumstances. You actually have a credible reason to want to celebrate. What I didn’t like was the fact that many people out there just seemed like they were there because everyone else was and a lot of people were just being way over the top ridiculous with how they carried themselves. That’s all.

      Like

  4. I mostly don’t agree with the statement that Osama was “assassinated”. He was murdered. Other than that, I completely agree with everything else. Dudes were hanging from trees and all and breaking bottles. Just too much.

    Like

  5. k80b3th says:

    You said what I was trying to say in a much better way. I was not unhappy about the death of Osama bin Laden, but I was unhappy with the way America reacted. I found it incredibly distasteful and moderately disrespectful. Why is drinking and partying in the streets an appropriate way to honor the death of the 3,000+ citizens we lost 10 years go? I don’t understand it. And I appreciate your take on it.

    Like

    • Arteest says:

      Exactly! Some people just don’t know how to handle themselves. I swear, at times I don’t understand what goes on people’s minds. Thanks for reading and giving feedback!

      Like

  6. jayspence says:

    This is a very compelling post, and I 100% agree with the standpoint you take. Yes, it is some what of a victorious feat to have finally disposed of such a huge terrorist, who has been responsible for some many vicious attacks and deaths on innocent people. However, it isn’t the fact that he’s dead that we should be cheering about. It’s the fact that the families who fell victim to these cruel actions can hopefully have a little bit of light and happiness shed on them. We should be celebrating this feat by remembering those we loss, and looking further toward ways to preventing other terrorist attacks from occurring. You also bring up extremely important questions that I know thousands of people want to know as well, despite if they should it a couple nights ago or not: What next? I wish I could answer it, but all I can say is, only time will tell. Hopefully it’s all positive, but I know that would be very ambitious of me to expect. In the mean time, remember the events of 9/11/2001, remember those who lost their lives, and celebrate a hopeful step toward peace and justice in the world.

    Like

    • Arteest says:

      Very well written! I’m glad there are some people like us who share our outlook on this situation. And I, like you, hope for the best, but I also keep my eyes opened and prepare for what could be a disappointing result of this event. Thanks for reading and expressing your thoughts.

      Like

What Do You Think?

