Alcohol by Volume (ABV): 6%

New Albion AleThis is one of the rarest brews I have ever encountered. Not only is its packaging unique. I mean come on, how many turquoise covers for beer have you seen? But, it’s a 30-year-old American Pale Ale that died and has been resurrected for limited release by the Boston Brewing Company a.k.a. Sam Adams. One thing about my taste buds is that they are partial to bitter foods and drinks and I am sure most of my professional beer drinkers know that IPA’s or Indian Pale Ale’s tend to be very bitter due to the level and types of hops used in the brewing process. So I am not much of an IPA drinker. But, for someone like myself who doesn’t like “hoppy” beers, the New Albion Ale is perfect. This brew really surprised me at how – for lack of a better word – golden, it tastes. Every sip is clean and crisp like a ray of sunshine entering your mouth. It gives your tongue a wake up call that makes your tonsils want to do the samba. The taste is as bright as the turquoise packaging the beer comes in. When poured it even has a slight shimmer in the clear glass. Although it’s still got that minute bitter (Pale Ale) aftertaste, it’s not overwhelming in this brew as it is in most Pale Ale’s. Until I tasted New Albion I didn’t know that American Pale Ale’s even existed. Now, I can say I am a fan of a Pale Ale. I definitely have to thank Sam Adams for reviving this brew, even if just for a while. I would definitely recommend this to the non-beer drinker for its untraditional Pale Ale taste. So go on and try it, but be mindful, this is a limited release. A downside to its rarity. Now while I like this beer for its not-so-pale-ale taste, this is only MY opinion. For more perspectives on New Albion check out these other reviews from BeerAdvocate, SeriousEats, Boston.com , and BeerGeekNation.

Comments
  1. […] Now while I like this beer for its not-so-pale-ale taste, this is only MY opinion. For more perspectives on New Albion check out these other reviews from …theearteest.wordpress.com/…/thee-beer-review-new-albion-ale-… […]

    Like

What Do You Think?

